Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces (Minecraft Adventure Map) Version 1.1 Developer Diary #11

Welcome, finally, to the next developer diary for Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces. I have some great and possibly disappointing news to tell in this one.

Wow, I’ve been working on this version of the map since February 2015. I remember my original goal of just adding in the new areas to 1.1 and only recreating the Water Temple dungeon… That sure changed! Since around August or so last year, I’ve been busy constantly coming up with ideas to make this map something special by practically remaking the entirety of the map to be something I would want to play. I’m not a fan of what I had made in Version 1.0, mainly because it feels very lazy to me now, but Version 1.1 (even the alpha version) will be the start of what I really want for the map.

Aside from that rambling, I’ve made a lot of progress inside of the map, fixing redstone structures to be more reliable (a lot of my older redstone usage was still in effect, and it often broke), adding a lot more depth to the different structures in the map, and, currently, making puzzles and challenges for the early dungeons in the map. I’ve already finished up completely the new revisions to the Stone Temple (aside from one room, which will be in the full 1.1 version), and I’m fairly satisfied with the new main puzzle in the dungeon that I’ve created (it’s not fantastic, but it’ll do).

Of course, it would seem like I would have made MUCH more progress by now, right? I mean, the release date is in less than a week, and I haven’t even mentioned progress on the Forest Temple, Sky Temple, or Water Temple? Well, I chose a bad time for a release date. I’ve only recently realized that May 31st was right before the end of school for me, and I’ve also had some personal stuff that’s halted my map’s progress on several occasions. I’m almost 100% certain that the map will be done within two or three months (hopefully just two months), and the reason why two or three months is necessary is because I felt like I was possibly rushing the map now. I want to really take my time with building the Forest and Sky Temples (the Water Temple is actually pretty close to being done), and I want to make revisions to the Dark Dimension dungeon in the middle of the map (not as drastic as the other dungeons, though). I’m also very close to finishing up the Path to the River Source area in the River Haverna area.

And… one thing that I wanted to get out of the way now, since some things weren’t looking well-made beforehand, is expanding the outside of Mt. Olrin to be more of a mountain range than just a single peaked mountain (I’ve also removed the unnecessary clouds around the original Mt. Olrin peak). The outside of the mountain will be used in the Mt. Olrin dungeon in Version 1.2 as well, which is why I wanted to go ahead and make it a lot bigger. Here is what I currently have:

2016-05-24_23.23.13

It took me roughly 3 days to build that, and it’s still going to be updated a bit later in the full Version 1.1 (as well as having the mountain range continue on around other areas of the map). I have big plans for the dungeon inside of Mt. Olrin for Version 1.2, but, for now, I have to focus on other areas of the map that haven’t even been really started yet. The next thing I will be working on is the Reversal Woods and the Forest Temple (and the Sky Temple area after that as well). As a note also, the alpha version of 1.1 won’t contain the Wilted Tree mini-dungeon, as I need to change some other things before then, but you will still be able to obtain a shield by travelling to the outside of the dungeon.

Hopefully this wasn’t too disappointing for those who were expecting the map in a few days; however it most likely was a bit disappointing, and I apologize if that’s the case.

Thanks for reading this eleventh installment of my developer diary for Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces. (Next time, I will discuss the Forest Temple, Sky Temple, and Water Temple.)

(Edit on September 16: Well, school has begun again, and I’ve been completely swamped in every way with homework and writing projects. Mostly because of those writing projects, I haven’t felt much like writing recently, and as a result of that, the Minecraft map is going to take most likely until November or December to get the alpha version of 1.1 out. I’ve honestly hit a bit of “designer’s block” (like writer’s block except for design), and that’s hindered my ideas for the dungeons, which are all that’s left to finish up now until I can release the alpha version. I truly apologize, once again, for these broken release date promises, as I usually set them with the mindset of me working on it continually, but I almost never have. As for the JungleBeat review, it’s getting there, but I still haven’t had much time to work on the review.)

Also, as for other posts, school has halted those a bit. I’ll return with a DKC3 review in the summer.

Leave a Reply

