Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces (Minecraft Adventure Map) Version 1.1 Developer Diary #9

Okay, I’ll be honest: I haven’t worked much on this map in about a month (because of school and other things), but I haven’t done one of these in awhile, and I’d really like to do another one to showcase some new ideas I’ve had since the last edition of this developer diary. By the way, if you haven’t checked out the previous edition of this developer diary, I suggest that you check it out here!

(As a side note, I’ve updated the Minecraft Forums page, just so that I could make sure that it was updated and kept knowledgeable along with you guys reading this post.)

Okay, first off, I’ve decided that I want to include a new shop area underneath the Castle in Castle Town, which has three shops (a sword-smith shop, a shield-smith shop, and a bow-smith shop), a “knight’s academy”, and the “army chief’s” office. The latter two features are a main part of a certain side quest that I’ve been making. Inside each of the three shops, you will be able to give each shop owner a Level 1 or Level 2 “upgrade gem”, which can power up your weapon, shield, or bow in terms of attack/defense (and I don’t know what I’ll do with shield upgrades, since 1.9 isn’t even out yet). There are a total of six upgrades, and you can transfer upgrade levels between new weapons and such.

Secondly, I’m planning a co-op version of the map sometime in late 2016-early 2017 (which feels like a long way away for now, but it’ll be then in no time). I’m waiting until I completely finish the map so that I don’t have to painstakingly make the map again for both versions. It will include an edited story-line to reflect on the fact that there’s two characters playing instead of one, changed dungeons with new puzzles that require two people (and they will be harder compared to the original puzzles), and side quests that acknowledge that there are two people instead of one.

Thirdly, not in Version 1.1, but in Version 1.2, I hope to add quite a few new side quests and such to the map, and I’m trying to detail the map a bit with more mini-dungeons by planning them out for V1.2. I’m hoping to add a two-part mini-dungeon that has two entrances in two different areas. Completing both parts of the mini-dungeon unlocks a central room with some sort of reward. I’m also going to be adding a dungeon that has the sole purpose of upgrading the Firina Blade to its “Final Form”. Actually, in terms of necessity of getting these upgrades, you will be able to complete the final dungeon in the map without these upgrades, but I’m hoping of possibly having multiple pathways in the final dungeon that will be different depending on what upgrades you acquired in your journey. It’s a novel idea in a way, but it could be somewhat difficult to pull off for me, since I’m practically a noob at redstone and command blocks compared to pretty much anyone else from what I see.

Lastly, and this is something I’ve been putting off talking about, I want to eventually release a sequel to this map. I know it’s too early to say this, but I find that there’s many unexplored things that I could add to this map. There’s more to the continent of Haverna than just what’s found in this map, in fact, it’s only about half of the continent in terms of total area used (obviously, it isn’t actually a giant continent in the map, but that’s why there’s walls blocking your view from the ground level… it’s to help with the immersion). I’m planning on having more modern areas on the other parts of the continent, and you will be able to return to the original map’s locations in some way. I don’t want to go too deeply into the things I’m planning for the sequel, but I know it will be fun to play at the very least!

This developer diary could be shorter or longer than normal, considering how you look at it, but I think that I still put out more information than usual in one singular developer diary. I’m currently physically (and mentally) exhausted at the moment (because I’m sick at the moment), so excuse any typos that I’ll most likely neglect to quickly scan for. At any rate, thanks for reading edition #9 of the developer diary for Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces. This project because much more ambitious than I ever could have expected back when I started making the map back in January 2013, and I’m incredibly glad that I kept making it past Version 1.0. As for this blog, I’m also glad that I started out on a writing venture that will most definitely improve my writing ability for later on in life. Anyway, I’m rambling on and on at this point. Once again, thanks for reading, seeya!

(P.S. I’m working on another review of a Nintendo-related game for later, but it will take awhile before I complete it.)

2 thoughts on “Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces (Minecraft Adventure Map) Version 1.1 Developer Diary #9”

Leave a Reply

