Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces (Minecraft Adventure Map) Developer Diary #6 (Off-Topic Edition!)

Before I get started, if you have not read the previous developer diaries, I suggest you at least check out the most recent one here. With that out of the way, let’s get started!


So, recently I haven’t had as much time to work on the map, and I have to take a break from working on it for a day. Because of that, I don’t have much to really talk about in terms of Golden Continent. However, I mine as well talk more so about what maps I was working on before I started making Golden Continent. The first one I was going to make was a puzzle map set in a mansion, but, to be honest, I had no idea of what stuff I really wanted to build in that map, so I eventually stopped working on it. An older map than the one I just mentioned (I remember making it back near the time Minecraft Beta 1.5 came out) was called “Minecraft: Adventures in Minecraftia”, which obviously didn’t have a very creative name, but there is one special thing about the map I just mentioned: it was the first time I attempted to make an adventure map. Looking back on it now, the map was pretty much me just experimenting with already used concepts, but it was at least fun trying to make it from what I remember. Of course, none of those maps ever were released (or finished), but mainly only because I never planned on finishing them. However, there was one map I did plan on finishing that I never released. It was the map that eventually led to me making the map that this developer diary is based on. It was called “Golden Continent: The Guardians”, and I have no idea why I called it that, but it worked I guess. I was making that map, and I never really knew what to do with it, until I started thinking of some story elements. Then, it hit me: this map is pretty bad. At that moment, I realized that I should probably start fresh with my newly found encouragement and knowledge of how to build maps, and that’s how I got led into the map I’m currently working on: Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces. That’s not all of the story, but the rest of the story is a little bit embarrassing when I think about it, so I’ll just leave it at that!

Thanks for reading this edition of the developer diary for Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces! I know this was a really off-topic and short developer diary, but I had to do that for today, since, otherwise, this would have ended up being a pretty boring edition of the developer diary. Thanks for reading, seeya!

Leave a Reply

