Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces (Minecraft Adventure Map) Developer Diary #1

This developer diary is about my currently released Minecraft adventure map, known as Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces, which I am currently working on expanding for an update to the map. This post is updated on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays (sometimes Saturdays), and this post will talk about the trials I’ve faced every couple of days and will talk about certain additions or improvements I’ve made to the map since the last update. Keep in mind that I’m planning on posting screenshots of certain brand new areas after I finish them, and certain details will always be talked about here first before the Minecraft Forums post for this map.
So that I won’t spoil too much, story elements will be kept secret until the release of the map (although it’s a adventure map for Minecraft, so who cares about spoilers?). Also, sometimes I’ll post videos of certain things, like redstone challenges, in the map, and I will also show how it works in those videos. Without further ado, here’s the first edition of the “developer diary” for Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces.
Since this is the first edition of this developer diary, this will be kinda explaining a lot of things I’m currently working on in the map. First off, I’m mainly working on a new area in the map called Lake Haverna (meant to be a reference to the name of the fictional continent the game is located on), which leads into a dungeon in the game called the Water Temple (name is obviously a reference to the dungeon from TLoZ: OoT). My original version of the Water Temple was pretty “crappy”, and it was the version that I originally made in the first release of the map. Now, however, I am completely remaking the Water Temple to be a TON better than the last one. But, since I’m no where near ready to show the “New” Water Temple yet, I’ll just keep talking about Lake Haverna. Lake Haverna is large area that (obviously) contain a big lake in the middle and some buildings around the side, kinda like Lake Hylia from OoT. The main difference between this area and Lake Hylia is that the Water Temple is not located at the bottom of the lake, but it is located in a different location. You need to do a small trading quest to reach the dungeon, but all of the items are located in the general vicinity of the lake. I’m not quite ready to show off this new area yet, but I am ready to show off the brand new “Snowlands” region in the game.

The Snowlands:
2015-05-10_14.44.54
2015-05-10_14.45.09
2015-05-10_14.45.29

As you can see, I’ve made this area a lot bigger than some of the other ones in the map, and I built most of it by hand to try my best to make it more organic in some places (although it’s not completely finished yet as you can see). There probably will be some more information in the next edition of this developer diary, but I will most likely talk more about the other new region in the map, the Desert. The next edition will be released tomorrow (or on Tuesday the 12th, May 2015). Thanks for reading, seeya!

3 thoughts on “Golden Continent: Rise of the Dark Forces (Minecraft Adventure Map) Developer Diary #1”

Leave a Reply

