Saturday Gaming Stuff #1 (including Mario Kart 8 DLC Pack 2 First Impressions, and more!)

Yep, you read that right! This “weekly” post that I had been doing sometimes on Mondays, has now been moved up to Saturdays instead! Since that’s out of the way now, if you don’t know what this special post series is about, it’s where I take 2-4 gaming topics that I don’t think I could justify an entire blog post, and I clump them together in a more concise manner, while cutting away any possible filler! All right then, let’s get started!

Mario Kart 8 DLC Pack 2 First Impressions:
maxresdefault

First off, I currently think that Pack 2 of the Mario Kart 8 DLC is slightly superior to the first DLC pack, but I still like them both a lot. In terms of track selection, this pack of DLC practically adds a quarter of a game’s worth of content for only $7.99 ($11.99 for both current DLC packs together, which adds a half of a game in total with both packs installed), and I think this is probably the best value for any DLC I’ve ever seen. The new tracks in Pack 2 are quite fantastic, indeed. There are 4 brand new tracks and 4 classic ones included in Pack 2, and you can feel the love put into the classic tracks and the creativity put into the brand new tracks. The new characters added in Pack 2 aren’t a selling point at all to me, but they’re a nice touch to polish the content a little bit. My personal favorite track out of Pack 2 is without a doubt the brand new Ribbon Road, which was really lacking in Mario Kart Super Circuit. Overall, DLC Pack 2 is just as awesome as the first DLC pack (although, Baby Park is, without a doubt, a close second because of all the frantic things that happen during those 7 laps around a very small track, especially on 200cc).

The Whole Steam Paid Mods Fiasco:
skyrim_fishing_mod-600x270

Around a week or three ago, Steam introduced paid mods for games starting with The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, but fan backlash caused them to stop paid mods from existing any longer. From what I saw, most paid mods were things that didn’t really need to be payed for IN COMPARISON to mods that practically changed the whole game, yet they were free. There was really no advantage to paid mods too, since both Steam and Bethesda took 75% of all mod payments collectively. Sure, maybe they had their $5 fishing mini-games and their… Uhh… $99 “horse parts”… (Seriously, I cringed when I saw that…) Anyway, paid mods don’t really need to be a thing in my book, but maybe if they had executed it more with having ACTUAL quality control and giving at least 50% of the payment to the mod creator, then it could have possibly worked.

Splatoon Global Testfire First Impressions:
WiiU_Splatoon_323_MultiPlayer_SplatZones_Warehouse01

Nope! First Impressions isn’t done for the day yet! The Splatoon Global Testfire is a “beta demo” of sorts (the same type of demo that was made for Killzone: Mercenary for the PSVita). When I first started the demo, I was greeted to a pretty short tutorial that lasted around 2-3 minutes. The first problem I had was the “necessary” use of motion controls to look up and down, but I surprisingly liked this style of control after I got used to it (You can turn off motion controls anyway, so even if you don’t like it, it’s fine). The two maps available were Walleye Warehouse and Saltspray Rig. I found both to be very enjoyable, but I think I liked Saltspray Rig a little bit more because of the more open feel. The 4 (err… 3?) weapons you can choose from are the Splattershot, Jr (you average “splat” gun in the game), Splattershot (slightly more powerful and slightly longer range than Jr., but less ink supply), Splat Roller (my personal favorite and is the “melee” weapon of the game), and the Splat Charger (medium range, chargeable weapon). The first round was pretty horrible, because I was still getting used to the controls, but the second round was amazing. After the first round, I was wanting to quit playing and realize that it wasn’t my type of game, then I played the second round, and I was hooked for the rest of the hour of the Global Testfire. Overall, before playing the demo, I was very skeptical, but, now, I’m definitely getting the game when it releases later this month

(Also, as a side note, that mini-game “Squid Jump” or whatever during loading was a pretty nice touch).
WiiU_Splatoon_050715_screen_Minigames_05_SquidJump

Thanks for reading this first edition of Saturday Gaming Stuff! I had a lot of fun writing this, and I may or may not do a second one next week, but I usually like to wait until I have 2-3 smaller topics to talk about in the gaming world (In fact, I was debating whether or not to include the “Steam paid mods” part, but it happened somewhat recently in the past couple weeks, so I decided to go ahead with it). Once again, thanks for reading, and seeya!

One thought on “Saturday Gaming Stuff #1 (including Mario Kart 8 DLC Pack 2 First Impressions, and more!)”

Leave a Reply

