Kingdom Hearts I.5 HD ReMix Review (Part II: Re:CoM, 358/2 Days)

Since, I’ve beaten about half of Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories and I have watched about half of 358/2 Days, I feel like I’m up to reviewing both of the games from I.5 HD ReMix. Without further ado, let’s get started!

~~~Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories~~~:

Background:

After the success of KIngdom Hearts 1, Square Enix started to work on Kingdom Hearts Chain of Memories for the Game Boy Advance and Kingdom Hearts 2 for the Playstation 2. Sometime in 2007, Square Enix made a special remake of Chain of Memories for the PS2, and it came bundled with Kingdom Hearts 2 Final MIx, under the name Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories. Since then, it was re-re-released along with Kingdom Hearts Final Mix and Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days (Kingdom Hearts I.5 HD ReMix). It has received mixed to highly positive reviews from fans, and is often regarded as one of the better “spin-off” Kingdom Hearts titles.

Gameplay:

Compared to Kingdom Hearts 1, Re: Chain of Memories is much more strategical than fast-paced. First things first, if you are a fan of card games, you will probably enjoy this game to a certain extent. If you are not a fan of card games, you will probably either love this game or hate it. For myself, I’m not really a fan of card games, but I still think this game is okay at times. The high points of the game are the boss battles and mini-games in 100 Acre Wood. Everyday combat in the game is okay at best for me, but other times, it just drags on and on and on. The boss battles, however, are very fleshed out and exciting, and were easily the best part of the game. I often find myself going out of the way to specifically try to get to the boss as soon as I can, just so I can have some fun. Other than the bosses, however, I don’t like this game that much. It could use some work, and the game is essentially Kingdom Hearts 1 with strategical card maneuvers and the Organization XIII, but it still has different basic stories for each world, focusing more on memories that the usual things for that world. Overall, it’s great during boss battles, but normal combat is very boring sometimes.

Music and Sound:

Not much to say here, honestly. The music is, for the most part, not updated, unlike Kingdom Hearts 1, and the music itself is okay compared to the rest of the series. Not bad, but nothing special.

Graphics and Performance:

Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories looks just like KIngdom Hearts 1 in HD, and I never noticed any slowdown or anything either. It’s pretty solid, and there’s not much to say here either.

Final Thoughts and Rating:

Re: Chain of Memories is not a game for everyone (just like Hyrule Warriors). Some people will hate it, but others will love it. If you are a fan of Kingdom Hearts 1 and 2, you will most likely get some enjoyment out of this game, and, probably, you too will see that the bosses are by far one of the best parts about the game!
7/10: Not a game for everyone, but card game fanatics will most definitely love it!

~~Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days (cutscenes from I.5 HD ReMix)~~:

First Thoughts:

I remember enjoying 358/2 Days on the DS quite a bit 5 years ago, but I recently played it again, and it was okay in my opinion. One of the strangest things to me about the game was the lack of development of story between missions until very few points in the game. Most of what I remembered from playing the game was this: mission, salt ice cream cutscene, repeat x5, somewhat important plot point, repeat until end. Overall, it wasn’t bad, but it doesn’t feel like something I would want to watch all of the mostly unimportant custcenes over again for.

Upgrades and Music:

I thought the overall sound of the game received some enhancements due to the original being on the DS, but it still is just the cutscenes of the original game, but in HD. For important segments that weren’t in cutscene form, there are text screens with a frozen background image from that point in the game. It irks me of how Square Enix could have taken the time to redo this game in HD with the actual game and everything, but I guess in the average business world, time is money… (which is most likely the reason they didn’t redo Re:coded either!). The cutscenes, altogether, make up around 3 hours, and, honestly, if you played the original game all the way through, you don’t need to watch these. 358/2 Days really was just a game to tell of why Roxas came about and of his time in Organization XIII (XIV really during his time…).

Final Thoughts:

I’m not going to rate this, because it’s not really much of a game at all, but really a cutscene collection. It was enjoyable to watch sometimes, but, for the most part, not really.

I hope you enjoyed my Mini-Reviews of Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories and Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days. I will probably review II.5 sometime in late-February to mid-March (on that topic, I will probably review KH 3D sometime in May or June), so keep an eye out for it then! Thanks for reading, and feel free to comment about any of your thoughts. Seeya!

Leave a Reply

